Worthy Fashion

When I was younger, all my clothes were bought for me by relatives and other people. I would not have been able to choose my own outfit if my life depended on it!

However, when I got older, I quickly realized I had to create my own style; one that I wanted. Although fashion advice is extremely available, good fashion advice is hard to come by. The teen magazines and internet all told me exactly what to do and how to be a certain way. I found myself loosing who I wanted to be because of what people said “STYLE” was.

But I didn’t know what it was. I soon had to decide who to listen to: the world of internet and Vogue or my inner style and what I thought looked good and modest.  So many girls, now, my age find their beauty and worth in what they wear and how they look on the outside. I went through that too. I understand what its like to put your worth and identity in a couple of outfits. But, what’s the use? Do you, girls, really want a guy to only look at you for what you look like on the outside or do you want them to understand that you have a brain and a heart and a soul? 

Of course you don’t, it would be a very, very, hard relationship if it was based all on outward appearance and not on personality and TRUE LOVE. I don’t know if all of my readers are religious or anything, but I am a christian and when I think of TRUE LOVE, I think of these verses.

“Love is patient, love is kind. Love does not envy, is not boastful, is not conceited, does not act improperly, is not selfish, is not provoked, and does not keep record of wrongs.”

1 Corinthians 13: 4-5

If Love is patient and kind and all of those things, why does our culture tell us that love should be based on outward appearance? How many times throughout high school and just life in general, do people judge others on their beauty?

Beauty is inward. Whether you are religious or not, I challenge you to look at the verses above. Love, real love, needs to be all of those things…it needs to be selfless. I am in no way saying it is wrong to feel attracted to someone’s looks or beauty. However, if the “good-looking person” is selfish, high-strung, and cruel, are they really attractive?  Would you really consider them someone appropriate to date/ consider as a lifelong partner?

I guess this article/ blurb is just something that I think needs to be said and discussed. So to kind of end my time on my soap box, I challenge all of you to refuse to let our first world country’s culture to define you. Beauty is on the inside; your worth is on the inside. It is the person that you daily strive to be. It is your passion and drive that is attractive.

Don’t be afraid to show people how worthy and beautiful you are on the inside. The real you is absolutely….. Be-YOU-tiful. 😉

With that little pun, I’m signing out.

With love, your fellow BLOGAHOLIC.

-Hannah ♥

Leave a Reply

